31 Hockey Players Named to Hockey East All-Academic Team; Women Rank 1st, Men 2nd

WAKEFIELD, Mass. – The University of New Hampshire women’s ice hockey team had a league-high 16 representatives on the 2012-13 Women’s Hockey East All-Academic Team and the UNH men’s hockey team recorded the second highest total of 15 on the 2012-13 Hockey East All-Academic Team, the league announced Tuesday afternoon.

The total of 31 Wildcats was the highest combined total by any Hockey East men’s and women’s teams. The award is presented to each student-athlete who achieved a grade-point-average of 3.0 or better each of the semesters during the 2012-13 academic year. 

Senior Katie Brock (Marblehead, Mass.) was further distinguished as one of two defensemen on the Women’s Hockey East Academic All-Star Team for recording the highest GPA by position. Brock recorded a 3.92 GPA in the Fall 2012 semester and 4.00 in Spring 2013 for a 2012-13 GPA of 3.96.

Brock was also honored as a Distinguished Scholar, which is bestowed upon student-athletes who record a GPA of at least 3.0 every semester of her four-year varsity career. Senior forward Scott Pavelski (Plover, Wis.) joined Brock as a recipient of that prestigious honor. Brock was one of 10 women and Pavelski was one of six men bestowed Distinguished Scholar status. 

Hannah Armstrong (Newmarket, Ontario) and Arielle O’Neill (St. Catharines, Ontario) were both honored for the third consecutive year while Paige Goloubef (Oakville, Ontario) was recognized for the third time in her four-year career.

Senior defenseman Kailey Chappell (Pickering, Ontario) was named to the All-Academic Team for the second time in her Wildcat career, as was sophomore Kayla Mork (Victoria, Minn.). 

Jay Camper (Rocky River, Ohio), Ryan Randall (Durham, N.H.) and Trevor van Riemsdyk (Middletown, N.J.) earned this distinction for the second consecutive year. Connor Hardowa (Edmonton, Alberta), Kevin Goumas (Long Beach, N.Y.) and Jeff Silengo (Madison, Conn.) were also honored for the second time in their UNH careers.

A total of 15 UNH rookies were honored.  Megan Armstrong (Edina, Minn.), Haley Breedlove (Plano, Texas), Sara Carlson (Hutchinson, Minns), Alexis Crossley (Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia), Jonna Curtis (Elk River, Minn.), Marie-Eve Jean (Gatineau, Quebec), Emma Jonasson (Dandeyrd, Sweden) and Vilma Vaattovaara (Veikkola, Finland) were the eight women’s honorees. From the men’s team, the freshmen named to the All-Academic Team were Dan Correale (Prince George, British Columbia), Maxim Gaudreault (Annapolis, Md.), Collin MacDonald (West Milford, N.J.), Brett Pesce (Tarrytown, N.Y.), Harry Quast (Chagrin Falls, Ohio), Jamie Regan (Chagrin Falls, Ohio) and Kyle Smith (Lumberton, N.J.). 

Other first-time honorees were Jessica Hitchcock (LaSalle, Ontario), a junior transfer, and sophomore Jess Ryan (Cloquet, Minn) from the women’s team as well as junior Eric Knodel (West Chester, Pa.) from the men’s squad.

A total of 90 women from eight teams and 99 men from 10 teams were named to the 2012-13 Hockey East All-Academic Team On the women’s side, UNH was followed by the University of Maine, Northeastern University and Providence College, all of which had 13 representatives. For the men, Maine (17) led the way and was followed by UNH, University of Vermont (14), UMass Lowell (13) and Merrimack College (12).

View: Mobile | Desktop