Three Provisional Cuts Made, Willman Bestowed Co-Coach of the Meet at Final Day of ECAC Championships for Women’s Swimming & Diving

Preliminary Results
Final Results

ANNAPOLIS, Md. – Head coach Josh Willman was named the Co-Coach of the Meet as the University of New Hampshire women's swimming & diving team tallied three provisional cuts to conclude the ECAC Championships, hosted by the U.S. Naval Academy at Lejeune Hall Sunday.

Willman collects his second consecutive ECAC Coach of the Meet award and fourth overall. The 21st year head coach shares the award with U.S. Naval Academy head coach John Morrison.  

Sophomore Bettina Caspersen (Lyngby, Denmark) and seniors Lauren McCandless (Macungie, Pa.) and Jenni Roberts (Springvale, Maine) earned provisional cuts on the final day.

Roberts garnered a pair of provisional cuts in the three-day meet. Junior Oneida Cooper (Johannesburg, South Africa), junior Katie Mann (Prince George, British Columbia), Caspersen and McCandless all notched one NCAA 'B' cut.

The Wildcats captured the gold and bronze spots on the podium in the 200-yard butterfly. Roberts eclipsed her 2013 ECAC record of 1 minute, 57.31 seconds to pace the field of 24 participants with a provisional cut and program record time of 1:56.91. Roberts' new record currently ranks 38th in Division I. McCandless also notched a NCAA 'B' cut, clocking in at 1:58.93 for third place. Junior Allison Morales (Santa Clarita, Calif.) earned a career-best time of 2:03.81 to place seventh.

New Hampshire placed two swimmers in the top-five in the 200-yard backstroke. Mann medaled silver in the event, touching the wall at a personal-best time of 1:59.61. Cooper notched a fifth place finish in the race with a mark of 2:02.84.

Caspersen earned a provisional cut in the 200-yard breaststroke. The sophomore parted the water to register a time of 2:15.21, earning fourth in the heat.

For more information on the upcoming NCAA Championships, starting Thursday, March 20, be sure to visit

View: Mobile | Desktop