DURHAM, N.H.— Kevin Regan (South Boston, Mass.), Ricky Santos (Bellingham, Mass.) and Cathy Parker (Westford, Mass.) were honored Tuesday evening as the recipients of the Jim Urquhart Student-Athlete Of Year Award. The announcement was made at the annual Student-Athlete Senior Appreciation Banquet.
        Regan, a goalie for the men’s ice hockey team, and Santos, a quarterback for football, were co-recipients of the male athlete award.
        Regan leaves UNH after having one of the most decorated seasons in UNH history. He was named a Hobey Baker finalist, a first team All American, Hockey East Player of the Year (unanimous selection), New England’s Most Valuable Player, Walter Brown Award winner (given annually to the top American born college hockey player in New England) and selected to the All-Hockey East First Team. He posted a 2.21 GAA and a .930 save percentage, which ranked sixth nationally. The senior netminder garnered the Hockey East Defensive Player of the Week seven times this season and broke numerous goaltending records in the process. Regan leaves as the career leader in wins (70), saves (3,235), save percentage (.928), minutes played (6598:31) and games played (112). In a rich history of goaltending at UNH, Regan leaves as the only goaltender in UNH history to capture back-to-back 20-win seasons.
        Regan was also active in the community as a peer advisor and an economics tutor in the Whittemore School. He also participated in local Read Across America and DARE programs and was a volunteer coach for the local youth hockey league.
        In the classroom, Regan earned two degrees, one in finance and one in economics, and has been on the Dean’s List all seven semesters. He has been a member of the Hockey East All-Academic Team every year and currently holds a 3.65 gpa.
        Santos, the 2006 winner of the Walter Payton Award and a three-time finalist for the honor, was named an All-American three straight years by various media outlets. The three-time Conference Player of the Year had an amazing career with the Wildcats and is now ranked third in the NCAA record book in both touchdown passes and passing yards. He owns nearly every UNH passing record and led UNH to four straight NCAA appearances. Santos also led the Wildcats to three straight wins over FBS teams Rutgers, Northwestern and Marshall. A two-time winner of the “Boston Globe” Gold Helmet Award as the best player in New England, the team co-captain had his No. 2 uniform number retired at this year’s annual Football Banquet.
        Santos has done a great deal of community work at UNH, including the Alternative Spring Break Challenge in which he helped to rebuild homes in New Orleans. He was involved in Read Across America and participated in the Special Olympics annual summer games at UNH, the New Heights football and basketball summer camps and the New Teen Outlook Center.
        Academically, Santos showed steady improvement throughout his career and went on to earn a 3.0 gpa in three semesters and graduated in December with a kinesiology/sports studies degree.
        He recently signed a free agent deal with the NFL’s Kansas City Chiefs, was released, and continues to pursue a professional football career.
        Parker, the recipient of the women’s award, earned the honor of NCAA All-American in cross country and was a two-time NCAA individual qualifier for the Wildcats. She ran to a fourth-place finish at the NCAA Northeast Regional and was a two-time member of the All-Northeast Regional Team. She was also the America East Conference runner-up  and was an ECAC individual champion as well. In track, she placed 11th in the 3,000 meter steeplechase and was named to the NCAA All-East Regional Team. She also placed seventh in the steeplechase at the NCAA East Regional Championship. A two-time America East champion, she is presently the UNH and America East recordholder in the event. She is the only UNH track and field athlete (male or female) to qualify for the NCAA championships in both cross country and track and is also the only UNH cross country athlete to qualify for the NCAA cross country championships twice. She has also qualified for the 2008 U.S.. Olympic Track and Field trials.
       Parker has been named an NCAA Academic All-American three times and a WICCA Academic All-American once. She also earned the America East Cross Country Student-Athlete of the Year Award and was named the America East All-Academic squad in every season of competition.
       She has been on UNH’s highest honor roll every semester and currently holds a 3.85 gpa. as a nursing major at UNH.
        The Jim Urquhart Student-Athlete of the Year Award began in 1999. The award is bestowed annually upon UNH senior student-athletes who excel both in athletic competition and the classroom, as well as possessing great character, sportsmanship and a passion for sports.

Here is a list of past Jim Urquhart Student-Athlete of the Year recipiens:
1999- Jerry Azumah (football), Jason Krog (men's ice hockey), Melanie Morin (women's cross country, track)
2000- Orsi Farkas (women's basketball), Kyle Schneck (men's cross country, track), Mike Souza (men's hockey)
2001- Colleen Christopher (women's lacrosse), Ty Conklin (men's hockey), Ryan DiNunzio (men's soccer), Andrea Encarnacao (women's soccer)
2002- Amy DeCamp (women's cross country, track), Darren Haydar (men's hockey)
2003- Greg Blaisdell (men's skiing), Marcie Boyer (field hockey)
2004- Lesley Read (women's track/cross country), Steve Saviano (men's hockey)
2005- Chiara Best (women's soccer), Ben Sturgill (men's basketball)
2006- Amanda Hall (gymnastics) and Derek Stank (football)
2007- David Ball (football) and Danielle Clark (women’s basketball)

View: Mobile | Desktop