UNH Football Players Named New England All-Stars

DURHAM, N.H. –– Jermaine Washington (West Milford, N.J.) and Jeff Hayes (Arlington, Mass.), both seniors on the University of New Hampshire football team, were named to the 1999 All-New England Division IAA Team as announced on Nov. 29.

Washington, a 5-10 wide receiver, broke the UNH single-season record for receptions with 71 in the 1999 season; he also compiled 821 receiving yards, a team-best 1,405 all-purpose yards and scored seven touchdown. He tied the single-game record for receptions with 14 against Villanova on Oct. 30. Earlier this month, Washington was named to the Atlantic 10 Second Team.

Hayes, who was named to the Atlantic 10 First Team earlier this month, was a fixture on the Wildcats’ offensive line for the second straight year. He played a major role in an offense that ranked first in the conference in total offense (453.3 yards per game) and third in scoring (29.5 ppg).

New Hampshire finished the 1999 season under first-year head coach Sean McDonnell with a 5-6 record.

The 31-player team, which is selected by the New England Football Writers, will be honored at the annual New England Football Writers Captains and Awards Banquet on Dec. 9 at the Lantana Restaurant in Randolph, Mass.

View: Mobile | Desktop