NEW HAVEN, CT – University of New Hampshire senior wide receiver David Ball (Orange, VT), a three-time selection, headlines the Walter Camp Football Foundation 2006 Division 1-AA All-America team.  The team was selected by the head coaches and sports information directors of the Division 1-AA football schools and certified by UHY, LLP, a New Haven-based accounting firm. On the season, Ball had a school-record 93 receptions for 1,114 yards and 13 touchdowns for the Wildcats. Ball finished his collegiate career with 58 touchdown receptions, a Division I-AA record.  Ball’s teammate junior quarterback Ricky Santos, a Walter Payton Award finalist, is a repeat Walter Camp All-America honoree. Santos, a two-time Atlantic-10 Offensive Player of the Year recipient, passed for 3,125 yards and 29 touchdowns to help lead UNH to the 1-AA quarterfinal round for the third consecutive season.
    Yale offensive tackle Ed McCarthy (Fairfield, CT), who helped the Bulldogs capture a share of the 2006 Ivy League title, anchors the offensive interior, while Southern Illinois running back Arkee Whitlock (Rock Hill, SC) leads the offensive backfield.  Whitlock, also a Payton Award finalist, rushed for 1,828 yards and 25 touchdowns for the Salukis.
    The 2006 Walter Camp All-America defensive squad includes nine players who are candidates for the Buck Buchanan Award, presently annually to the top defensive player in Division 1-AA.   Among the top defensive honorees include Illinois State linebacker Cameron Siskowic (San Diego, CA), the 2006 Gateway Conference Defensive Player of the Year, and two players – defensive end Marques Murrell (Fayetteville, NC) and defensive back Jeremy Wiggins (Macon, GA) – from top-ranked Appalachian State (12-1).  
    In all, players from nine different conferences and 19 total institutions were represented on the 2006 Walter Camp 1-AA All-America team.   The Atlantic-10 had the most players (8), followed by the Gateway (4) and Big Sky (3) conferences.  Appalachian State had the most players (3) selected, while four schools - New Hampshire, James Madison, Youngstown State and McNeese State – each played two on the team.
    Walter Camp, “The Father of American Football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side.     The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting All-America teams for 1-A and 1-AA.

2006 Walter Camp 1-AA All-America Team


WR    David Ball*           
WR    Alex Watson          
TE    Ben Patrick           
OL    Corey Davis           
OL    Matt Isenhour           
OL    Brennan Carvalho       
OL    Ed McCarthy          
C    Ryan Jewell           
QB    Ricky Santos
RB    Marcus Mason           
RB    Arkee Whitlock     
PK    Rob Zarrilli               


DL    Marques Murrell       
DL    Matt King           
DL    Bryan Smith           
DL    Kroy Biermann       
LB    Akeem Jordan          
LB    Kyle Shotwell           
LB    Cameron Siskowic       
DB    Dre Dokes           
DB    Jeremy Wiggins      
DB    James Ihedigbo       
DB    Stacey Thomas      
P    David Simonhoff       
KR    Steven Whitehead            
View: Mobile | Desktop