DURHAM, N.H. – Incumbent starting quarterback R.J. Toman (Mission Viejo, Calif.) completed 7 of 9 passes for 133 yards and one touchdown – a 61-yard strike to All-America tight end Scott Sicko (Stillwater, N.Y.) – in the University of New Hampshire’s annual spring Blue/White scrimmage Saturday afternoon at Cowell Stadium. Sicko ended the game with three receptions for 90 yards.

Dontra Peters (Annapolis, Md.) ran for touchdown scores of one yard and four yards and totaled 45 yards on 10 carries. He split time in the backfield with Shawn Sweeney (Plymouth, N.H.), who had nine rushes for 43 yards.

Sean Jellison (Amherst, N.H.) was the leading ground gainer in the game with 70 yards on 14 carries. In limited playing time, Chad Kackert (Simi Valley, Calif.) had five rushes for 18 yards and one catch for 15 yards.
Chris Chandler (Wakefield, Mass.) finished with a game-high four receptions for 41 yards, including a long of 13. J.T. Wright (Agoura Hills, Calif.) and Joey Orlando (Bethlehem, Pa.) both had three catches and Ronnie Strand (Tuckahoe, N.Y.) hauled in a four-yard touchdown pass from Matt Welch (Lowell, Mass.).
Welch completed 8 of 11 pass attempts for 90 yards. He passed for one touchdown and also had a six-yard TD run. Josh Vick (Apollo, Pa.) was 10 of 14 for 66 yards and Mike Roberto (Rumsin, N.J.) completed the game 7 of 13 for 48 yards.
The defense recorded three interceptions, including a 27-yard touchdown return by Matt Evans (Hanover, Mass.). Also recording interceptions were Anthony Gorrell (Clayton, N.J.; 25-yard return) and John Duffey (Tarentum, Pa.; 1-yard return).

Terrence Klein (Westwood, N.J.) and Kyle Flemings (Forty Fort, Pa.) led the defense with six tackles apiece; Flemings also broke up a pass. Evans tallied five tackles and a pass breakup in addition to the interception.

Brian McNally (Cornwall, N.Y.), the 2008 CAA Defensive Rookie of the Year, was credited with two sacks.

Tenth-year head coach Sean McDonnell announced that Sicko, offensive lineman Tom Neill (Syracuse, N.Y.) and linebacker Sean Ware (Bristol, Conn.) will serve as captains of the 2009 Wildcats.

New Hampshire opens the ’09 season Sept. 5 at home vs. St. Francis (Pa.). Game time is 12 p.m. at Cowell Stadium. Season tickets go on sale May 11 at 10 a.m. at the Whittemore Center Box Office and online by clicking here.

View: Mobile | Desktop