DURHAM, N.H.— The University of New Hampshire women’s gymnastics team held its annual year-end banquet and named award-winners for the 2006-07 season.
The team named freshman Helena Diodati (Scarborough, Maine)  the Most Valuable Gymnast after she posted high scores of 9.85 in vaulting and 9.9 on bars.     
    Junior Fairen Plummer (Louisville, Ky.) was selected as the Most Improved Gymnast after starting out as an event specialist, but eventually working hard and preparing herself to be ready to compete on bars, beam and floor.
    Junior Rebekah Porter (Valparaiso, Ind.) was named Most Inspirational and the winner of the Katie Baldwin Academic Achievement Award, which is presented to the individual who contributes the most both on and off the floor and she recorded the team’s highest GPA with a 3.8.
     Senior Heather Moore (Cortlandt Manor, N.Y.) received the Coaches Award which is presented by the coaching staff to the gymnast that has gone above and beyond expectations.
     The winner of the “Gatos Award”, which recognizes excellence in the area of strength and conditioning was given to sophomore Lindsay Kovary (Huntington Station, N.Y.)
        The captains for the 2007-08 campaign were also announced and both Porter and Kovary will lead the squad next season.
        Several members of the gymnastics squad were recognized as members of the Robert E. Houston 9.5 Club, which was established by Robert E. Houston, Sr. and is supported by Bob and Barbara Houston. It was established in 1989 and is a threefold award that is: an acknowledgement of the gymnast’s dedication; an appreciation of the physical effort involved; and a token of the high degree of proficiency attained.
    First-year recipients are Kelsey Alwin, Helena Diodati, Diane Grey, Taryn LaFountain, Jennifer Liston and Keeley Smith. Second-Year Recipients include: Melissa Cesar, Lindsay Kovary and Justine Turner. Third-Year recipients are: Beth Bronson, Heather Moore, Fairen Plummer, Rebekah Porter and Katelyn Schenkel. Fourth-Year honors went to: Jaime deMello and Jen Jones year awards went to Jaime deMello and Jen Jones.
     UNH head coach Gail Goodspeed thanked all of the individuals who have supported the program in all aspects including: sponsors, families of the gymnasts and the great UNH fans.
View: Mobile | Desktop