Gymnastics Presents Annual Team Awards

Tasia Percevecz, Kate McGeever, Jillian Hudson, Danielle Reibold & Ali Carr

DURHAM, N.H. – Senior co-captain Ali Carr (Chelmsford, Mass.) was crowned the University of New Hampshire gymnastics team's MVP and classmate Danielle Reibold (Horsham, Pa.) was tabbed the winner of the Katie Baldwin Academic Excellence Award for the second year in a row and third time overall. Those announcements were made Sunday as part of the team's postseason banquet at Holloway Commons.

2012 Team Highlight Video

Carr was feted as the MVP following a season in which she earned a place on the All-EAGL Second Team on vault and balance beam and garnered EAGL All-Tournament Second-Team honors on vault and uneven bars. The Chelmsford, Mass., native sported the Wildcats' top vault mark in 11 of 13 meets, highlighted by first-place scores in four straight meets from Jan. 1-Feb. 10. She compiled a 9.830 Regional Qualifying Score (RQS) to rank eighth in the Northeast Region and tie for 10th in EAGL competition. Her season-high vault tally was a 9.875 against Pittsburgh on Jan. 21. Carr's top bar mark of the season was a 9.900 against West Virginia on Feb. 25, she tied for first place in bars against Pitt and she recorded an RQS of 9.780. The senior's beam accolades included a 9.785 RQS, a pair of first-place finishes, the squad's high mark in four meets and a personal-best 9.900 against West Virginia that resulted in her being named the EAGL Gymnast of the Week on Feb. 28. Her previous All-EAGL awards include First Team on bars ('09) and vault ('11) and Second Team on bars ('11). She secured a place on the EAGL All-Tournament Second Team on bars in both '09 and '11.

Reibold, a biomedical science major, garnered recognition for her superb classroom merit one month after becoming the first Wildcat to ever be named the EAGL Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The four-time EAGL All-Academic Team member and three-time NACGC/W Scholastic All-American was the first 'Cat gymnast to be commended as a league's top scholar-athlete since Nicole Mullins won the ECAC Academic Gymnast of the Year award in 1993.  The Horsham, Pa., native boasts a team-leading 3.82 cumulative grade point average, including a perfect 4.0 GPA during the fall semester, and she has been on the Dean's List each of her first seven semesters as a UNH student-athlete.

Hannah Barile (Sinking Spring, Pa.) received the Most Improved Award on the heels of a consistent sophomore season, in particular on floor exercise, where she thrice hit for a career-high 9.850 and established the team-high floor score four times, including two first-place results.

Courtney Connors

Co-captain Courtney Connors (Buffalo, N.Y.) was honored with the Most Inspirational Award. The junior rallied back from a mid-season injury that sidelined her for three meets to serve as an integral vault competitor over the final eight competitions and 10 of 13 overall. She closed out her season in fine form by sticking her landing for a season-high-matching 9.800 at the NCAA Fayetteville Regional on April 7.

The Gatos Award was presented to senior Tasia Percevecz (Fountain Hills, Ariz.) for her commitment to the University's strength and conditioning program. Percevecz was part of the floor lineup for all 13 meets, scoring a personal-best 9.800 to go along with a season-high 9.700 mark on vault in a tri-meet victory against Yale and Brown on Feb. 4.

Associate head coach Ed Datti and assistant coach Jess Kelley were recognized for being tabbed the 2012 EAGL Assistant Coaches of the Year and the NCAA Northeast Regional Assistant Coaches of the Year. Senior associate athletic director for compliance/senior women's administrator Michelle Bronner was lauded for being the recipient of the Northeast Regional Administrator of the Year award.

Jen Aucoin

Head coach Gail Goodspeed capped the proceedings by announcing that Connors and Jen Aucoin (Mullica Hill, N.J.) had been selected by their teammates as the 2012-13 co-captains.

The banquet featured the annual acknowledgment of the Wildcat 9.5 Club members, established by the late Robert Houston Sr., the team's number one fan. This year's members were Aucoin, Barile, Carr, Connors, Austyn Fobes (Howell, N.J.), Kayla Gray (Buffalo, N.Y.), Adrienne Hill (Midlothian, Va.), Jillian Hudson (Sparkill, N.Y.), Erin Machado (Swansea, Mass.), Kate McGeever (Saco, Maine), Jannelle Minichiello (Orlando, Fla.), Percevecz, Reibold and Erika Rudiger (Slidell, La.).

For more information on the UNH gymnastics team, visit

View: Mobile | Desktop