BOSTON – University of New Hampshire men’s basketball senior co-captains Jermaine Anderson (Beverly, Mass.) and Blagoj Janev (Sydney, Australia) received three America East honors during the America East banquet at the Fenway Park Pavilion on Friday.
            Anderson was selected to the America East All-Defensive Team along with America East All-Conference Third Team honors, while Janev was named to the America East All-Conference Second Team.
            Anderson, a senior point guard, was second on the team in scoring and seventh in the conference with 14.5 points per game. He scored double digit figures in 21 of the 26 games played and scored 20 plus points on five occasions, including a season-high 28 against Harvard University. Anderson led the conference in free throw percentage (.850), while not missing a free throw in 12 of 21 games. He was also a threat from beyond the arc, ranking third in the conference in three-point shooting percentage (.442), as he contributed to a team that shot a league leading 223 3-pointers. Anderson was fifth in the conference in assists (3.58 apg), and finished ninth in the conference in assist-to-turnover ratio (1.16). He was awarded America East Co-Player of the Week for the week of Jan. 15-21.
            Janev, a power forward, compiled a team-high 393 points, averaging 13.6 points per game. Janev is currently fourth on UNH’s all-time scoring list with 1,330 career points. He scored in double digits in 19 of the 29 games played and notched a team-high 146 rebounds. Janev recorded an amazing performance against the University of Vermont when he shot perfect 11-of-11 from the field, including 5-of-5 from behind the arc en route to posting a career-high 31 points.
            The University of New Hampshire men's basketball (10-19, 6-10 America East) team gets set to take on the defending America East champions, University at Albany (20-9, 13-3 America East) in the quarterfinal round of the America East Championships at the Agganis Arena in Boston on Saturday (March 3) at 6:05 p.m. The game can be viewed by live online streaming at and will be broadcasted on the UNH Sports Network.

2006-07 America East Men’s Basketball Annual Award Winners
First Team
Jason Siggers Sr. G/F Albany Dallas, Texas/Skyline/New Mexico Junior College
Jamar Wilson Sr. G Albany Bronx, N.Y./Our Savior New American School
Mike Trimboli So. G Vermont Norwalk, Conn./St. Luke’s School
Bo Taylor  Sr. F  Hartford  Reston, Va./Paul VI Catholic/Bishop O’Connell/South Lakes
Chris Holm Sr. F Vermont Henderson, Nev./Green Valley/Rhode Island

Second Team
Mike Gordon Jr. G Binghamton Plainfield, N.J./Plainfield
Tyler Morris Fr.-R G Boston U. Indianapolis, Ind./Lawrence North
Kevin Reed Sr. G Maine Yarmouth, Mass./St. Thomas More Prep
Brian Hodges Jr. G UMBC Upper Marlboro, Md./Bishop McNamara
Blagoj Janev Sr. F New Hampshire Sydney, Australia/Australia Institute of Sport
Third Team
Brent Wilson Jr. F Albany Cedar Rapids, Iowa/Prairie
Omari Peterkin Sr. C Boston St. Thomas, Virgin Islands/Univ. of Notre Dame
Jermaine Anderson Sr. G New Hampshire Beverly, Mass./Phillps Exeter
Ricky Lucas Jr. G Stony Brook Herndon, Va./Herndon/George Washington
Martin Klimes Sr. C Vermont Prague, Czech Rep./Walsingham (Va.) Acad.

Lazar Trifunovic Fr. F Binghamton Belgrade, Serbia/Secondary Railway Tech.
Corey Lowe Fr. G Boston U. Newton, Mass./Newton North
Tyler Morris Fr.-R G Boston U. Indianapolis, Ind./Lawrence North
Joe Zeglinski  Fr. G  Hartford  Philadelphia, Pa./Archbishop Ryan
Joe Trapani Fr. F Vermont Madison, Conn./Daniel Hand

Brian Lillis Jr. G/F Albany Urbandale, Iowa/West Des Moines Dowling
Mike Gordon Jr. G Binghamton Plainfield, N.J./Plainfield
Chris Pugh Sr. G UMBC Clinton, Md./Oxon Hill
Jermaine Anderson Sr. G New Hampshire Beverly, Mass./Phillps Exeter
Martin Klimes Sr. C Vermont Prague, Czech Rep./Walsingham (Va.) Acad.

Coach of the Year
Mike Lonergan, Vermont
Rookie of the Year
Tyler Morris, Boston U.
Defensive Player of the Year
Brian Lillis, Albany
2006-07 America East Player of the Game
Jamar Wilson, Albany
Fans’ Choice Player of the Year
Mike Trimboli, Vermont
Player of the Year
Jamar Wilson, Albany

View: Mobile | Desktop