Callander named MVP at UNH hockey awards banquet

~Yandle named Captain and Leach named Asst. Captain for 05-06 season~

Preston Callander

DURHAM, N.H. - Senior forward Preston Callander (Regina, Sask.) of the University of New Hampshire men's hockey team was the winner of the Roger Leclerc Award as the team's Most Valuable Player for the 2004-2005 season, as announced at the annual team awards banquet Saturday afternoon at the Whittemore Center.

Callander registered a career-high 54 points in his last season in Durham and potted a team-leading 25 goals. He was named the Best Defensive Forward in Hockey East and was one of three UNH players named to the Hockey East All-Tournament Team. Callander also took home the Warren Brown Memorial Trophy as the best defensive forward.

Junior defenseman Brian Yandle (Milton, Mass.) was named captain for the 2005-2006 season, while junior forward Andrew Leach (Albany, N.Y.) was named an assistant captain.

Yandle, a Second-Team All-America selection, led the team among blueliners in scoring with a career-high 35 points (13g, 22a), while Leach registered five assists in 37 contests in his junior year.

Senior forward Sean Collins (Reading, Mass.) was the recipient of the Guy Smith Award as the team's best offensive player, while senior tri-captain Tyson Teplitsky (Saskatoon, Sask.) was honored with the Rod Langway Best Defenseman Award.

Collins was the leading scorer on the Wildcat's roster with a career-high 56 points with 19 goals and a team-high 37 assists. His 1.33 points per game ranked seventh in the nation and his assist total was second best among Div. I players. Collins was a First-Team All-America selection, as well as a Second-Team Hockey East All-Star.

Teplitsky enjoyed his finest season as a Wildcat with a career-high 22 points and a +13 plus/minus rating.

Seniors Robbie Barker (Concord, N.H.) and Justin Aikins (Surrey, B.C.) were co-recipient's of the Robert Kullen award as the team's Unsung Hero, which is chosen by the Wildcat coaching staff.

Barker was the third leading defenseman scorer on the team with 20 points, while Aikins notched 32 points in his senior campaign.

Freshman defenseman Brad Flaishans (Glendale, Ariz.) earned the Sid Knight Award as the Wildcat player with the highest grade point average. Flaishans amassed 10 points in 30 games as a freshman, with a +11 plus/minus rating.

Sophomore forward Josh Ciocco (Atco, N.J.) earned the Most Improved Player award, while classmate Jacob Micflikier (Winnipeg, Man.) was selected by the Wildcat fans as the Ted Karmeris Fan Favorite.

Ciocco posted 20 points in his second season in Durham after posting two points in his freshman season, and his +15 plus/minus rating was second best among Wildcat skaters. Micflikier ranked third on the team in scoring with 20-24-44 and finished second in Hockey East games with 30 points in 24 league contests.

Leach was named the Ironman Award winner as the UNH player who excels in the weight room through a 15-event competition during fall dryland training.

Senior team manager Colin Shank (Yarmouth, Maine) was tabbed the winner of the Charles Holt Coaches Award, which is given annually to the member of the team who makes the biggest contributions on and off the ice. Shank is the first ever non-player to earn an award at the UNH hockey banquet. Shank has been with the team for the past three seasons, serving most recently as the team manager for the past two years and video coordinator in his first season.

Junior goalie Jimmy Howard of the University of Maine men's hockey team was named the Terry Morton Most Worthy Opponent, as voted on by the Wildcat players.

The No. 8 ranked Wildcats finished the season with a 26-11-5 overall mark and finished tied for second in the Hockey East standings with a 15-5-4 record. UNH won 20 or more games for the ninth straight season. UNH's senior class leaves Durham as only the second class in school history to qualify for the NCAA Tournament in all four seasons of play. The Wildcats were one of five teams in Div. I hockey to earn a trip to the NCAA tournament the last four seasons.

View: Mobile | Desktop