DURHAM, N.H. – Junior goaltender Kevin Regan (South Boston, Mass.) of the University of New Hampshire men’s hockey team was named the recipient of the Roger LeClerc Award given to the Wildcats’ Most Valuable Player at the annual team awards banquet sponsored by the Friends of UNH hockey on Saturday afternoon at the Whittemore Center.
    Regan had the best season of his Wildcat career posting a 24-9-2 record with a 2.06 GAA and a school-record .935 save percentage, which also led the nation among Division I goaltenders. Regan also broke the Hockey East Tournament record held by Providence College netminder Chris Terreri posting 158 saves in four tounament games in March. Regan needs 12 wins to break Mike Ayers’ school record of 58 wins.
The 2007-2008 Wildcat Captains Pictured (L to R): Assistant Captains Craig Switzer, Brad Flaishans, Kevin Regan, Captain Matt Fornataro, Assistant Captain Mike Radja (Not Pictured)

    Junior forward Matt Fornataro (Calgary, Alberta) was named captain of the 2007-2008 Wildcats, as the 102nd captain in the history of UNH hockey along with assistant captains Brad Flaishans (Glendale, Ariz.), Mike Radja (Yorkville, Ill.), Regan and junior blueliner Craig Switzer (Peachland, B.C.). Radja had a career-high 37 points (19g, 18a) in his junior year and his 19 goals were second best on UNH’s roster, while Switzer totaled 17 points in his third season in Durham as UNH’s third leading defensive scorer and posted a team-leading +21 plus/minus rating. It marks the first time in the history of UNH hockey that the program has had a combination of five captains.
    Sophomore forward Trevor Smith (North Vancouver, British Columbia) took home the Guy Smith Award given annually to the best offensive player on the team. Smith was named a  RBK Second-Team All-American and was the first player in the program’s history to be named a Hockey East First-Team All-Star as a sophomore. He led the team in scoring with 43 points (21g, 22a) in 39 games.
    Senior captain Josh Ciocco (Atco, N.J.) earned the Robert Kullen Award as the Wildcats unsung hero, while Fornataro took home the Most Improved Player Award. Flaishans earned the Sid Knight Award as UNH’s top scholar-athlete with the highest GPA for the third consecutive season. Ciocco recorded 15 points (6g, 9a) in his final season in Durham, while Fornataro almost quadrupled his point total from his sophomore year with 40 points (13g, 27a) in his junior campaign. Flaishans led the team in the blueline with 23 points (4g, 19a) playing in all 39 games for the ‘Cats.
    For the third straight season, senior forward Jacob Micflikier (Winnipeg, Manitoba) was the recipient of the Ted Karmeris Fan Favorite Award. Senior defenseman Chris Murray (Dover, Mass.) earned the Rod Langway Best Defenseman Award, while sophomore forward Greg Collins (Fairport, N.Y.) was named the Warren Brown Trophy winner as the Best Defensive Forward.
    Micflikier registered 38 points (11g, 27a) in his senior season ranking third on the team in scoring, while Murray ranked second on the team among defensive scorers with a career-high 22 points (9g, 13a). Collins scored a career-high 11 points (4g, 7a) as a sophomore.
    Senior forwards Shawn Vinz (Rochester, Minn.) and Brett Hemingway (Surrey, British Columbia) were co-honorees for the Charles E. Holt Coaches Award given to a team member who makes large contributions on and off the ice. Hemingway ranked fifth on the team in scoring with 32 points (13g, 19a), while Vinz had a career-high six points (4g, 2a) as a senior.
    Regan was also the recipient of the Ironman Award given annually to the ‘Cats’ top athlete in the Strength and Conditioning testing. Brian Boyle of Boston College was the recipient of the Terry Morton Most Worthy Opponent Award.
View: Mobile | Desktop