Manz Headlines Group of 10 Men's Hockey All-Academic Honorees

WAKEFIELD, Mass. – The Hockey East Association announced Wednesday, June 15, the University of New Hampshire men's hockey program placed 10 of its student-athletes on the 85-player Hockey East All-Academic Team.

Senior Greg Manz (Wayne, Pa.), who was awarded Hockey East's Distinguished Scholar, became one of just five Wildcats to be chosen as a four-time Hockey East All-Academic Team selection, joining David Busch, Brad Flaishans, Jason Krog and Chad Onufrechuk. Fellow senior Matt Campanale (Chester Springs, Pa.) was a three-time honoree, while Stevie Moses (Leominster, Mass.), Scott Pavelski (Plover, Wis.) and Matt Di Girolamo (Ambler, Pa.) collected All-Academic recognition for the second time in their careers. First time winners from New Hampshire included Blake Kessel (Verona, Wis.), Kevin Goumas (Lake Worth, Fla.), Brett Kostolansky (Denver, Colo.), Dalton Speelman (San Jose, Calif.) and Jeff Wyer (Reading, Mass.) All 10 players earned at least a 3.0 GPA in each of the two academic periods in which they actively competed.

The Wildcats kick off the 2010-11 season on Saturday, Oct. 1, against the University of New Brunswick.

2010-11 Hockey East All-Academic Team
Matt Campanale (Sr./D)
Matt Di Girolamo (Jr./G)
Kevin Goumas (Fr./F)
Blake Kessel (Jr./D)
Brett Kostolansky (So./D)
Greg Manz (Sr./F)
Stevie Moses (Jr./F)
Scott Pavelski (So./F)
Dalton Speelman (So./F)
Jeff Wyer (Fr./G)
View: Mobile | Desktop