DURHAM, N.H. - The University of New Hampshire men's soccer team gathered together for its annual banquet on Sunday, April 21 at Holloway Commons.  Eight seniors were honored for their careers as a Wildcat.

Seniors John Bergqvist (Hollviken, Sweden), Derek Bragg (Downingtown, Pa.), Mike Davis (Tigard, Ore.), Mike Jenne (Vernon, N.Y.), Matt Low (Salem, N.H.), Adam Marcellus (Malvern, Pa.), Colin Smith (Sevena Park, Md.), Bryan Stewart (Swanzey, N.H.) were celebrated for their contributions to the team.  The seniors posted an overall four-year record of 31-21-22.

Five players earned awards, as voted on by their teammates, for their contributions to the program during the 2007 season. Bergqvist, a defender, earned the Robert Black Award as the team's most valuable player. Bergqvist, a 2005 NSCAA Regional All-American, started 45 games over his three-year career, and was named to the America-East Honor Roll for his academic achievement.

The Glenn Aborn Award for the team's most improved player was given to Jenne. The goalkeeper returned as a fifth-year senior to lead a Wildcat defense that posted 11 shutouts in 2007.

Rowling received the Walter Weiland Award as the team's most dedicated player. Starting in all 19 games in the fall, Rowling was named to the UNH Nike Classic All-Tournament Team, the UVM Smith Barney Classic All-Tournament Team, and to the America-East Honor Roll.

Junior Richard Weinrebe (East Providence, RI) earned the Harvey Johnson Award as the team's most inspirational player. Weinrebe started every game in 2007 and was named to the America-East Honor Roll for his academic achievement.

For the second-consecutive year Bragg earned the H. Richard Sandler ward for academic achievement.  This past fall, Bragg posted the highest GPA of any student-athlete in the program.  Bragg played in 18 matches with 17 starts. He is also a four-time member of the America East Commissioner's Honor Roll. Bragg was also presented with the NSCAA Scholar All-Region Award.

View: Mobile | Desktop