Beliveau Named to Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Second Team

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Senior Denise Beliveau (Framingham, Mass.) of the University of New Hampshire women's basketball team was selected to the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Second Team. Beliveau is one of 10 national finalists from Division I institutions recognized for a commitment to excellence on the court, in the classroom and in the community.

Beliveau, who earned America East First-Team and All-Defensive team honors, capped off her impressive five-year career with another strong season this past winter, leading the Wildcats to their first winning season since the 2006 campaign. The senior forward was the only America East player to rank in the top five in both scoring and rebounding after finishing the regular season with 14.1 points and 8.6 rebounds per game.

Beliveau notched a league-best 10 double-doubles this season, five of them against America East opponents, and closed out the regular season ranked in the top-10 in nine statistical categories. The team co-captain finished her Wildcat career ranked sixth in scoring (1,365), fourth in rebounding (843) and third in steals (201).

The Massachusetts native also excelled in the classroom and was named to the 2011 and 2012 America East All-Academic Teams for her efforts. As a fifth-year senior, Beliveau graduated in 2010 with a degree in Exercise Science, holding a 3.51 GPA, and is currently working toward a graduate degree in Leadership and Children's Health and Disabilities. Beliveau has earned America East Honor Roll accolades four years, including Commissioner's Honor Roll two years, and was named to the Dean's List six semesters.

Beliveau is joined on the second team by UMBC's Michelle Kurowski, making the America East one of two conferences, along with the Pac 12, to have two players on the national teams.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Winner
Nnemkadi Ogwumike, F, Stanford

Lowe's Senior CLASS First Team
Amanda Johnson, F, Oregon
Emile Johnson, G, UC Santa Barbara
Natalie Novosel, G, Notre Dame
Justine Raterman, F, Dayton

Lowe's Senior CLASS Second Team
Denise Beliveau, F, New Hampshire

Brittany Carter, G, Memphis
Lauren Edwards, G, Princeton
Michelle Kurowski, G, UMBC
Brittany Rayburn, G, Purdue

View: Mobile | Desktop