Five New Hampshire hockey alums on U.S. Women's National Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Five University of New Hampshire ice hockey alums have been selected to the 25-player roster for the 2000-01 United States Women's National Team, USA Hockey announced Monday.

Forwards Karyn Bye ('93), Tricia Dunn ('96) and Brandy Fisher ('98) will be joined on the team by defensemen Sue Merz ('94) and Nicki Luongo ('99). Bye, Dunn and Merz were all on the U.S. Olympic Team that won the 1998 gold medal and all five skaters were on last year's National Team.

When Bye left UNH, she was No. 4 on the program's all-time points list with 164 (she is currently eighth) and she was the second player to amass 100 career goals. One of the four players to surpass Bye's career numbers was Fisher, the 1998 recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award as the nation's top collegiate player. She finished with 129 goals and 111 assists for 240 points, which ranks third on the school's career list.

The team will live and train full-time at the Olympic Training Center in Lake Placid, N.Y., and play a season-long schedule against international and college competitions and professional teams from the National Women's Hockey League.

Practice opened last Sunday and the season begins Oct. 14. The schedule features a Feb. 10 visit to Durham to play the University of New Hampshire. Game time at the Whittemore Center is 2 p.m.

The remainder of the team roster is: goaltenders Ali Brewer, Sara DeCosta and Sarah Tueting; defensemen Chris Bailey, Winny Brodt, Annamarie Holmes, A.J. Mleczko, Tara Mounsey and Angela Ruggiero; forwards Laurie Baker, Alana Blahoski, Julie Chu, Natalie Darwitz, Cammi Granato, Katie King, Shelley Looney, Erin Magee, Krissy Wendell, Brooke White and Hilary Witt.


View: Mobile | Desktop