WAKEFIELD, Mass. – The Women’s Hockey East Association announced the selection of 11 student-athletes from the regular-season and tournament champion University of New Hampshire team to the 2006-07 All-Academic Team on Friday; a total of 84 student-athletes were honored.

Senior goaltender Brittany Busa (Concord, Mass.) and senior forward Nicole Hekle (Winnipeg, Manitoba), as well as junior defensemen Martine Garland (Toronto, Ontario) and Diana Saly (Edina, Minn.), were named to the All-Academic Team for the third time. Busa, Hekle and Saly have been honored each of the past three years, whereas Garland was feted in 2004, 2006 and 2007.

Junior forward Leah Craig (Seaforth, Ontario) and classmate Nicole Goguen (Truro, Nova Scotia), a defenseman, are repeat honorees from last year. In addition, sophomore defenseman Maggie Joyce (Norfolk, Mass.) has now earned the academic accolade both of her years as a UNH Wildcat.

UNH’s first-time All-Academic Team selections were senior forward Lindsey Caleo (Clinton Township, Mich.), junior forward Jennifer Hitchcock (LaSalle, Ontario), sophomore forward Angela Taylor (Paisley, Scotland) and freshman forward Stephanie Holmes (Rye, N.Y.).

Student-athletes must attain a minimum grade-point-average of 3.0 in each semester of the academic year to qualify for the Hockey East All-Academic Team.

UNH won its fourth consecutive Hockey East regular-season title and second straight tournament crown en route to another NCAA tourney appearance and an overall record of 28-4-5 in the 2007 season.
View: Mobile | Desktop