UNH women's lax players receive academic honor

DURHAM, N.H. – Senior attack Katie Leland (Timonium, Md.) and senior goakeeper Maghan Grahn (Roseau, Minn.), as well as junior attack Leanne Ferretti (Sound Beach, N.Y.), of the University of New Hampshire women’s lacrosse team were named to the IWLCA Academic Honor Roll, the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches' Association announced recently.

Leland, the 2005 America East Women’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year, was honored for the second consecutive year and was named to the 2006 America East Women’s Lacrosse All-Academic Team earlier this month. Grahn, a first-time lacrosse letterwinner, was a Hockey East All-Academic Team honoree in both years (2004, 2005) as a member of the UNH women’s ice hockey team.

These three Wildcats and the 138 other student-athletes who received this distinction to the IWLCA Academic Honor Roll have achieved junior or senior academic status and recorded a grade-point-average of at least 3.20 for the spring semester as a member of the school's varsity lacrosse team.

UNH finished the 2006 season with an 11-7 overall record. The Wildcats advanced to the America East Championship for a record ninth consecutive time and competed in the title game for the fifth consecutive year.

View: Mobile | Desktop