Skiing Team Presents 2012 Team Awards

Liz Guiney
Women's Nordic MVP
Marie-Elaine Lepine
Women's Alpine MVP
 Erik Lindgren
 Men's Nordic MVP
 Taylor Vest-Burton
 Men's Alpine MVP

DURHAM, N.H. – The University of New Hampshire skiing team recently held its annual postseason banquet, recognizing its top performers from the 2012 season. Team most valuable players were Liz Guiney (Park City, Utah; women's Nordic), Marie-Elaine Lepine (Mont-Tremblant, Quebec; women's alpine), Erik Lindgren (Pitea, Sweden; men's Nordic) and Taylor Vest-Burton (Breckenridge, Colo.; men's alpine).

The Wildcats finished 10th at the NCAA Ski Championships, hosted by Montana State University, in March to place in the top 10 for the 23rd time in Nordic head coach/ski coordinator Cory Schwartz's 30 years coaching at UNH. The ski program merited a No. 10 national ranking, which was the highest among all UNH teams, in the final winter Division I Learfield Sports Directors' Cup Standings.

Guiney, a junior, qualified for the NCAA Championships for the second straight season after recording top-10 finishes in 10 of the 11 races on the EISA circuit. The Nordic co-captain earned the region's No. 10 ranking and secured a berth on the EISA All-East Second Team for the second consecutive year, and she garnered National Ski Coaches Association All-Academic Team honors for the third year in a row. After being named to the 2010-11 Capital One Academic All-District Women's At-Large Team, the genetics major is a nominee once again in 2011-12. Most recently, the Park City, Utah, native was inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Honors Society.

Lepine, a junior, made it back-to-back women's alpine team MVP awards after representing the Wildcats in the NCAAs for the third year in a row. The alpine captain was tabbed to the EISA All-East Second Team (No. 9 regional ranking) during a season in which she recorded her first career victory in giant slalom at Vermont's Burke Mountain, a fourth-place GS run to headline a team alpine win at the Williams Carnival and five top-10 finishes overall.

Lindgren was the lone UNH men's Nordic skier to qualify for the NCAAs. EISA's 16th-ranked skier tallied a season-high, sixth-place finish in the 20K classic at Dartmouth, claimed 10th place in the 10K classic at Vermont and placed 12th in the 20K free at UNH. The co-captain was named to the NSCA All-Academic Team for the third straight year and is a nominee for the 2011-12 Capital One Academic All-District Men's At-Large Team. The junior was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa Honors Society, Sigma Pi Sigma Honors Society and Pi Mu Epsilon Honors Society

Vest-Burton, a junior, was an NCAA qualifier for the second straight year and competed at the championships for the first time in his career. The region's 14th-ranked alpine skier placed a career-high third in slalom at the EISA Championships, hosted by Middlebury College, and compiled four top-10 finishes during the season.

Schwartz and fifth-year alpine head coach Brian Blank recognized senior alpine captain Paul Atkinson (Toronto, Ontario) for joining Guiney and Lepine on the EISA All-East Second Team.  

The 12 members of the NSCA All-Academic Team were feted: Atkinson; Erik Lindgren; Per Lindgren (Pitea, Sweden); Coley Oliver (Salt Lake City, Utah); Sam Reed (Keene, N.H.); Guiney; Laura Halupowski (North Conway, N.H.); Elizabeth Izzo (Lake Placid, N.Y.); Jenna Kantor (East Burke, Vt.); Tristan Ramey (Anchorage, Alaska); Laura Rozinowicz (Toronto, Ontario) and Annika Taylor (Truckee, Calif.).

The 10 skiers that competed in the NCAAs were recognized, including men's alpine skiers Atkinson, Zach Clayton (Manassas, Va.) and Vest-Burton, women's alpine skiers Lepine, Kantor and Rozinowicz, the women's Nordic trio of Guiney, Izzo and Ramey and Erik Lindgren, the sole male Nordic representative.

Seniors Atkinson, Danielle Baron (Gilford, N.H.), Ted Broderick (Amherst, N.H.), Clayton, Dan Guiney (Park City, Utah), Danielle McVicar (Kanata, Ontario), Nick Mancuso (New Paltz, N.Y.), Maureen McAuliffe (Hopkinton, N.H.) and Tom Reagan (Freeport, Maine) were all recognized for their years of dedication to the program.

Volunteer assistant coaches Katie Miller, Kevin Rose and Viktor Hlas were thanked for returning to the team and making the experience of the current team members a positive one.

For more information on the UNH skiing program, visit or

Headline Photo: Dan Guiney, Paul Atkinson, Zach Clayton, Tom Reagan, Danielle McVicar, Nick Mancuso, Danielle Baron, Maureen McAuliffe

View: Mobile | Desktop