UNH women's soccer honors its student-athletes
Jackie Wishoski

DURHAM, N.H.-- The University of New Hampshire women's soccer team celebrated the 2004 season - one in which the Wildcats finished in a tie atop the America East conference standings - at its banquet Feb. 13 and gave special recognition to seven student-athletes on the squad.

Senior forward Chiara Best (Rose Valley, Pa.) received the Honor Award, which is bestowed upon the player whom the coaching staff finds to have made significant contributions to the team and deserves special recognition for her efforts, for the second consecutive year. Best, UNH's all-time leading scorer with 88 points, led the 2004 Wildcats in goals (14), game-winning goals (five) and points (31), and she tied for second in assists (three). Both the goal and point totals rank No. 2 on UNH's list of single-season superlatives. Her end-of-the-regular-season numbers ranked first in America East in goals and third in points.

Junior forward Jackie Wishoski (Malden, Mass.) was presented the Player's Award as the team member whom the players select as deserving of special honor. This award distinguishes the individual as one who has earned the respect of her peers. Wishoski, who shared the Honor Award with Best in 2003, missed the last 16 games of the season due to injuries sustained in a September automobile accident. Wishoski broke UNH's single-season recorded for both goals (18) and points (41) in the 2003 season and opened the 2004 season with six points on three goals in five matches.

Freshmen Katie Lutar (Guilford, Conn.) and Rhyan Radack (Madbury, N.H.) were recipients of the Gold Medal Award in recognition as the team members who, through strength of character, will and commitment, has overcome obstacles and challenges to maximize their potential and be a positive role model on the team. Both Lutar and Radack incurred injuries in the same accident that involved Wishoski. Radack returned and played in a total of 15 matches with two points, both on assists.

The Student Athlete Award, in recognition of the team member with the highest grade point average during the Fall 2004 semester, was presented to Lia Barros (Sammamish, Wash.), Katie Sullivan (Worcester, Mass.) and Debbie Newman (Union, Conn.), who also received the distinction in both 2003 and 2002. Sullivan also received this distinction in 2001.

View: Mobile | Desktop