New Hampshire earns eighth straight win of season

ORONO, Maine - Senior Shannon Daly (Brightwaters, N.Y.) and sophomore Shana Dege (Lockport, N.Y.) helped lead University of New Hampshire women's swimming and diving over the University of Maine as the Wildcats won their eighth straight dual meet of the year on February 2 at UMaine. Dege won both the 1-meter and 3-meter dive events for New Hampshire.

Dege earned a score of 239.10 to claim the 1-meter event. Dege convincingly won the 3-meter with a score of 252.53. Maine's Samantha Hartery was Dege's closest competitor with a second place score of 193.95.

Daly was the winner in three events. She anchored her team to finish first in the 200-yard medley relay. Kary Goodman (South Windham, Maine), Christine Tartaglia (Brewster, N.Y.), Ana Dowell (Phoenix, Ariz.) and Daly were first to the wall with a time of 1 minute 50.50 seconds.

Daly had a first place finish in the 100 breaststroke, touching the wall at 1:05.52. Tartaglia was second was a close second at 1:08.43. Daly completed her day with a win in the 200 breast, clocking in at 2:19.86. Teammate Michelle Garnsey (Lake Wylie, S.C.) finished second at 2:30.86.

Goodman also won two events. She was first in the 200 fly when she raced to finish just ahead of teammate Katrina Maloney (Dover, N.H.). Goodman's time was 2:10.48 with Maloney right behind her at 2:10.79.

Goodman also earned the top spot in the 200 back with a time of 2:08.48. Sarah Guyett (Yorktown Heights, N.Y.) (2:13.43) took second and Maloney finished third at 2:16.43. Guyett was narrowly edged out by Maine's Shelbi Settlage in the 200 individual medley. Settlage registered a time of 2:15.10 while Guyett followed at 2:15.38.

Brittany Daly (Brightwaters, N.Y.), Caitlin Hamer (Andover, Mass.) and Liz McKinley Amherst, N.H.) turned out a 1-2-3 finish in the 1000 free. Daly came first at 10:39.69. Hamer followed at 10:52.56. McKinley rounded out the placings and finished at 11:00.45.

New Hampshire (8-1, 3-1 America East) gears up for the America East Championship to be held February 16-19 at Boston University.

View: Mobile | Desktop