CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The America East conference announced Tuesday afternoon that senior Ben Jenkins (Francestown, N.H.) and junior Wesley Dinnan (Juneau, Alaska) of the University New Hampshire men’s cross country team, and senior Kim Povec (Holland-Patent, N.Y.) and junior Courtney Hamer (Andover, Mass.) of the women’s squad, were named to the 2008 America East All-Academic Team.

Kim Povec

Jenkins, a mechanical engineering major with a 3.87 grade point average, recently finished 40th at the NCAA Northeast Regional and was the second fastest Wildcat. Jenkins also finished ninth at the America East Championships to help UNH capture its third straight title and was 11th at the New England Championships.   

Dinnan, an English journalism major with a 3.35 GPA, placed 75th at the Regional. Dinnan was 17th at the conference championship and 10th at New Englands as the top UNH runner.   

Povec, a nutrition major with a 3.76 GPA, was the top UNH finisher at the Regional, the conference championship and New Englands, placing 31st, seventh and 12th, respectively.   

Hamer, a civil engineering major with a 3.62 GPA, was 75th at the Regional. Hamer finished 19th at the conference championship and 59th at New Englands.

For the last two academic years, the All-Academic Team has been selected based on a formula. Starting this year, America East has adopted a more objective approach based on feedback from various coaches’ groups and administrators. The process will now resemble the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-America program. Student-athletes worthy of consideration will now be nominated by member sports information directors and voted on by committee of SIDs, academic advisors and faculty representatives from all nine member institutions.

All-Academic squads for team sports are based on the number of athletes that participate in a contest at one time or are made up of 10 student-athletes for individual sports. To be nominated for the distinction, student-athletes must be a starter or important reserve for their team and participate in at least 50 percent of their team’s games or competitions. In the classroom, student-athletes must have a 3.30 GPA and have completed at least one calendar year at their institution. Freshmen are not eligible for consideration.

2008 America East Men’s Cross Country All-Academic Team

Miles Bartlett, University of Maine
Corey Bean, University of Maine
Tom Cheney, University of Vermont
Wesley Dinnan, University of New Hampshire
Alex Felce, Stony Brook University
Chris Gaube, Binghamton University
Ben Jenkins, University of New Hampshire
Charlie Schaefer, University of Vermont
Charles Therriault, University of Maine
Scott Ulberg, Stony Brook University

2008 America East Women’s Cross Country All-Academic Team

Laura Cummings, University at Albany
Elizabeth Foster, University of Hartford
Courtney Hamer, University of New Hampshire
Laura Huet, Stony Brook University
Erin Lagasse, Boston University
Sarah Mosser, Boston University
Kim Povec, University of New Hampshire
Diana Purtz, University of Vermont
Holly Van Dalen, Stony Brook University
Lucy Van Dalen, Stony Brook University

View: Mobile | Desktop